Take care: Hydrate with water

Why water? Why not other liquids: sweetened drinks, colas, and such?

Because plain water is directly flushed out by the kidneys bringing with it body wastes and toxins while adulterated drinks still need to be processed and broken down before the body can use the water.

It is a sad fact that sweetened drinks have made it hard for most to drink plain water.

Our body, which is 80% water, loses water 5 ways. While the first three are common knowledge:

from the bladder when urinating,

from the intestines when moving our bowels,

from our skin when we sweat,

the last 2 come as a surprise to many:

from our eyes — tears keep our eyes moist: we blink as they dry up; and

as we breathe.  As much as a quart of fluids are leaked by glands into the nasal passages to moisten the air that enters our lungs.

Over time, I have learned to listen to my body. Oftentimes, it’s just telling me that I need to replenish my water loss. Like when I find my eyes more crusted (nagmuta) in the morning, or have them constantly flooded with tears (nagluluha) during the day, I know I’ve had less than my usual 8-10 glasses the day before.

Times were when there was not much to pee in spite of a feeling of fullness and a frequent urge to urinate: more often than not, I had poor water intake the previous day. Constipation, on the other hand, cannot be entirely blamed on just water loss from profuse sweating during hot weather or from strenuous activity; lack of fiber or bulk in the diet contributes to the difficulty of passing a dry mass.

I know how I’ve really been remiss with my water intake for more than a couple of days when I find myself sniffling and/or wiping a runny nose, or clearing a raspy/itchy throat, even an irritatingly dry cough, or worst, post-nasal drip which is the dreaded precursor to my sinus problem,

So I go for water first. Drinking up usually resolves the problem within the day, or at the latest, the day after. This is not to say that I don’t seek professional help. When symptom(s) are accompanied by fever and/or persist, I do consult for proper medical management.

KEEP HEALTHY: DRINK UP. REPLACE YOUR DAILY WATER LOSS.

Start the day off with a glass when you wake up, say at 6 a.m. Take a glass every 2 hours. If you’re one of those who can’t take a glassful at a time, take 3-4 gulps from that glass every 15 minutes. By 8 p.m., that would be 8 glasses.

If you go to bed after 10 p.m., you can rack up 9 glasses easy.

And before you know it, you’ll be taking water more often than every 2 hours.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Take care: Hydrate with water

  1. Zack Foutain says:

    antihistamines do work for my post nasal drip but i am still looking for a good natural antihistamines that works like Chlorphenamine and Hydroxyzine.-

    Our favorite web blog
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/loestrin-24-side-effects/

    • not sure if any of the suggested herbs are found in your area, zack, but no harm in checking it out if you’re into natural alternatives.
      you might care to google stuartxchange.
      it has an extensive list of philippine herbals with scientific and chinese names.
      just free search ‘sinusitis’.

Leave a Reply

